Home |  About Us |  Our Partners |  Dr. Deborah Money

Dr. Deborah Money

Dr. Deborah Money is a Professor in the Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medicine and the School of Population and Public Health, Faculty of Medicine, and an affiliate member of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Faculty of Science, at the University of British Columbia (UBC).  She is a clinician/scientist in Reproductive Infectious Diseases, based at the Women’s Health Research Institute, leading several large multicentered research projects in the maternal/infant microbiome, HIV in pregnancy, studies of the safety, immunogenicity and efficacy of the HPV vaccine in women living with HIV. Since March 2020, she pivoted her research group to lead three large pan-Canadian projects to study the impact of COVID-19 on pregnant women and their infants.

She is Vice-Chair of the Infections in Pregnancy committee (incoming Chair, October 2023) for the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO). She was the inaugural Executive Director of the Women’s Health Research Institute (WHRI), (2006-2016) and then the Executive Vice-Dean, Faculty of Medicine, UBC (2016-2020). She has been a successful teacher, mentor and research team builder and has published more than 240 peer reviewed publications and has received more than $28M in peer reviewed funding.

She has received several awards including the Queen Elisabeth II, Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), the YWCA Woman of Distinction award (2013), award for Career Contributions to Women’s Health Research from the Women’s Health Research Institute (2017), Red Ribbon Award for Outstanding Contribution to the HIV/AIDS movement (2019), the Lifetime Achievement Award from the US based, Infectious Diseases Society of Obstetrics and Gynecology (2019), a Distinguished Achievement Award for service to the University and Community, from the UBC Faculty of Medicine (2021) and the SOGC award for Excellence in Research, (2022). She was recently selected to the Canadian Master’s Field Hockey squad for the 2023 Pan Am tournament.